PublicationsAbout the Journal

The African Journal of Energy Markets is an international peer-reviewed journal addressing energy policy implications in Africa. The journal is multi-disciplinary, but the themes include but are not limited to regulation, electricity markets design, economics and policy, environmental and climate issues,  Oil markets, Renewable energy, energy efficiency, supply security, forecasting, energy commodities, surveys, econometrics, various models( simulation, equilibrium, optimization and analytical models), energy Strategy, energy transition, competition policy and geopolitics and Energy.

The Journal also invites papers that can be replicable

PublicationsSubmission Checklist

Manuscript Compliance Checklist:

The author and corresponding author(s) are well designated;
1. E-mail address
2. Full postal address
3. Relevant files have been uploaded


1. Keywords, figures (with captions)
2. All tables and figures (including titles, descriptions, and footnotes) are well labelled.
3. Proper and complete citations and references
4. Grammar and spell checked
5. An abstract( not more than 300words)
6. Any other supplemental files
7. Obtain permission for copyrighted materials
8. Use Harvard referencing

PublicationsManuscript Workflow

PublicationsEditorial Board

Dr. John Mutua

Editor In Chief

Energy Economist and Director of Economic Regulation Energy and Petroleum Regulatory Authority

Prof. Eng. Sandrine Mubenga

Assistant Editor in Chief

Professor of Electrical Engineering technology at theUniversity of Toledo and Director General of Electricity Regulatory Agency in the DRC

Dr. Yakubu Abdul Salam

Assistant Editor in Chief

Applied Economist at the Aberdeen Centre for Research in Economics and Finance, Program director of the MSc/LLM Energy Economics and Law

Dr. Diana Ngui

Senior Editor

Senior Research Economist at the School of Economics, Kenyatta University

Dr. Pontian Okoli

Senior Editor

Lecturer and  Law Researcher at the University of Stirling

Editorial Panel

Dr. Richard Okou, Dr. Geoffrey Mabea, Dr. Geoffrey Okoboi, Dr. Fenwicks Shombe Musonye, Dr. Mohamedain Seir, Prof. Askwar Hilonga, Dr. Franscisca Kusi Appiah, Dr. Frederick Nyang, Dr. Victoria Nalule, Prof. Nicodemus Abungu, Dr. Willys O. Chache, Dr. Shirley Mushi, Dr. Aloys Rugazia